Parenting

Parenting children, both adult children and children in the home, can be a bittersweet blessing, but  is a blessing, indeed.  I love all my children and am intrigued by their personalities and lifestyles.  Admittedly, sometimes I wonder “how did that come from me (or their dad)”; and most often it is because I am fascinated by how much intelligence, creativity, strength or some other such trait is apparent in them.  If it is a negative trait, I usually have only to look in the mirror of my soul to find the root of a trait that got passed on, of which they may have allowed to grow temporarily  unchecked.  For these I trust God to use it all for their good somehow.  If they let Him, I know He will.  (Rom. 8:28-30)  My children are each unique delights, and I am thankful that despite whatever differences we have, they all enjoy keeping up with their dad and I, in some form or extent, and often in spite of crazy, busy schedules.

I am thankful that my children are independent thinkers and those with families are, along with their spouses, raising sweet children.  If some of my children have not yet formed conclusions regarding their purpose in life and God’s part in it, when they do, they will own those conclusions and will not be shaken.  It is sweet to rest in the promise that …”all they children shall be taught of the Lord; and great shall be the peace of thy children.”  Isa. 54:13.  They know that just as Jesus prays for us, so we, as parents, pray for them…”I sanctify Myself for them so they also may be sanctified by the truth.”  John 17:19.  They should know that their parents pray for them even if they are not innocent (who of us is?) …”He will rescue the guilty one, who will be rescued by the purity of your hands.”  Job 22:30.  They should know that I am a demolition machine armed with weapons of mass destruction aimed at their enemy and mine, when on my knees and in my armor doing all sorts of prayers on their behalf.  (Eph. 6:13; 2 Cor. 10:4-5)  They should know that I have put in multiple requests for dispatches of angels to protect them.  (Ps. 91:11-12).  Though some of them think I worry too much, and often that is true, they should know that more and more I rest in Phil. 4:6-7.  God’s peace surpasses every thought and guards my heart and mind in Christ.  I serve a loving Savior and He is well able to guard what has been entrusted to me until that day.  (2 Tim. 1:12)  I believe that includes my children.

I love the fact that despite much teasing and picking on each other, my children know …”how good and pleasant it is for brethren to dwell together in unity.”  Ps. 133:1  We have wonderful times together; my husband, my children, their spouses, their families, their friends and I!

Leave a Reply

