We are oddly different…and that is a good thing.

 203013895673681703_8s2zlpXi

We are all different for a reason.  I don’t always find it easy to verbally express what I’m thinking and that can  create misunderstandings, but I am glad to know that God made me just the way I am and for His good purpose.  I have been very encouraged by my favorite (in)courage blog writer and author, Holley Gerth.  In her book “You’re Already Amazing“, she says, “We’re in pretty good company if we feel like we’re not like most people.  After all:

Most people don’t…build an ark.

Most people don’t…lead people through the desert to the Promised Land.

Most people don’t…die on a cross to save the world.

But aren’t you glad one person did each of these things? …We need you, just you, to fulfill that purpose, complete that project, bring that gift to the world in a way no one else can.  Most people don’t…but you do.  In your own wonderful way…and that’s amazing.”

And God doesn’t usually start with wholeness.  He takes brokenness and makes wholeness by showing Himself through our brokenness.  You are amazing, and needed just the way you are in your job (whether that is at home or elsewhere or both), in your community and in your church, and whether it is behind the scene or in front.

Romans 12:4-8: Now as we have many parts in one body, and all the parts do not have the same function, in the same way we who are many are one body in Christ and individually members of one another. According to the grace given to us, we have different gifts:

If prophecy,
use it according to the standard of one’s faith;
 if service, in service;
if teaching, in teaching;
 if exhorting, in exhortation;
giving, with generosity;
leading, with diligence;
showing mercy, with cheerfulness.

62980094758604861_0KUXJ8YI_c

Sometimes I fall in with Satan’s plan to sabotage my own self-worth (should I say way too often), when I don’t feel others understand or support.  But I know I need to tune into the right frequency.  As long as my motivations include serving or helping others in some way, God and people like Holley Gerth, and my greatest cheerleader –  my husband, are right. I am already amazing.  And so are you.  What is holding you back?

2 thoughts on “We are oddly different…and that is a good thing.

Leave a Reply

