Morning Musings in the Gardens

IMG_6207

I don’t know if it was dew or raindrops from last night’s rain nestled in the elephant ear, but it puts me in mind of the hymn “I Come to the Garden Alone“:

I come to the garden alone
While the dew is still on the roses
And the voice I hear falling on my ear
The Son of God discloses.

It’s the perfect place to read a devotional and then dig a little deeper.  Ann Voskamp’s 1000 Gifts devotional #16 has some good stuff about why Daniel, the keen, fit, strong, courageous character who went into the lion’s den and came out unscathed, may have come into such miraculous grace.  Daniel had alot of ingredients for a pity party, after all he was brought out of his country against his will,  but he didn’t spend much time bemoaning his lot. He proved himself, not only above staying in a pit, but beyond the reach of a power grab by rejecting the king’s offers of power and riches as a reward.   Most of our politicians, and maybe each one of us,  would do well to read that portion of scripture each morning.

IMG_6169

Daniel’s  jealous political comrades could not find any corruption or negligence in him, despite every effort.   His circumstances never changed his grateful heart, even when his future looked even more unstable than his difficult past.   “Three times a day he got down on his knees and prayed, giving THANKS to his God, just as he had done before.”  (Daniel 6:10) This was by his open window even after it was made illegal.  I wonder what he focused his eyes on when they weren’t closed in prayer.  Long range vision was toward Jerusalem, his home he had been torn from.  But close up?  Maybe a bird or flower?  His window was open.  I wonder if he could smell honeysuckle or lavender.  Or whatever delightful aromatic plants grew in Babylon.

IMG_6218

But, back to Voskamp and thankfulness, “the only way to be a man or woman of prayer is to be a man or woman of thanks.  And not sporadic, general thanks, but three times a day eucharisteo.   When I give thanks for the seemingly microscopic, I make a place for God to grow within me.  This, this, makes me full, and I ‘magnify him with thanksgiving’, and God enters the world.  What will a life magnify?  The world’s stress cracks, the grubbiness of a day, all that is wholly wrong and terribly busted?  Or God?”

IMG_6214

I choose God and the pleasant little things He lets me see, if I will but look.   And I have let God enter my world again today to carry me through the less than glamorous moments that will, undoubtedly, arise.  What things will you focus on and magnify today?

IMG_6220

Leave a Reply

