Warm Wednesday Words – What Brings You Joy

joy

Have you ever stopped to think about what brings you joy?  My greatest joy comes from being in a relationship with a God who will never let me go, who is my Savior, and my constant friend, counselor and comforter.  He rewards me as I grow in faith and trust.  His joy in me empowers me to find joy in life whether or not life is going the way I would want it to.  Even as I write, He is thinking of me (and you) and preparing that place in eternity for those who love and obey Him.

He is a rewarder of those who seek Him

My number one people relationship joy giver is my husband.  He is faithful, dependable, hard working, courageous, lives wisely and Godly, a great listener,  has my best interests at heart and makes my life more fun.

IMG_5091

An awesome source of happiness and fun times is family.  I have entrusted them to God and am thankful that He woos, guides, disciplines, keeps and sanctifies them (just as He does me and all who are His).  My deep joy for my children is not about the circumstances they are in or where they are at.  It is about the state of their hearts.  I want them in eternity with me, more than I care about their “success” in this life.  “I have no greater joy than this: to hear that my children are walking in the truth.” (3 John 1:4)

big family at lake

Peronas

IMG_7498IMG_7521

269950_10150213486417364_2971466_nIMG_7210

hannah

Friendship is a huge source of pleasure and joy, whether in my church, online or in my community.  C. S. Lewis says, “Friendship is unnecessary, like philosophy, like art… It has no survival value; rather it is one of those things that give value to survival.”    That pretty much sums it up.

friends on a limb

Maintaining good habits can foster joy.   Starting my day with a workout and spending a few minutes or more in Bible readings and a devotional get my day off to the best start.  Expressing love and art to my family  via a scent, a meal, a craft, or home making effort brings joy to home life.   Ministering to others outside the family on occasion also brings me joy.

he who refreshes others

What about you?   What brings you joy?

Coffee-for-Your-Heart-150
Leave a Reply

