Warm Wednesday Words: Grace Inspires

amazing grace how sweet the sound

When I think about the grace that has been given me at the cross, I am humbled and deeply inspired to respond in devotion.  I know that I share with human kind the desperately wicked heart malady that birthed sin back in the Garden of Eden, and I am forever grateful for a Savior who chose excruciating affliction in my place.  He vacated His throne to be humbly born and live among us, suffered every kind of trial known to man, was tortured leading up to the cross, carried the tribulation to completion, paying every debt while hanging for all to see on a cross.  There, pride was nailed in place by the King of Kings, who knew its insidious evil.  He refused to indulge in it.

He is Risen

I am amazed that during those hours of extreme pain, He spurned relief because of His great love for the likes of you and me.   He could’ve called ten thousand angels.  But He didn’t.  He had us on His mind.  And that’s a claim no one can make undergoing that kind of suffering.  Not one of us would languish in agony until death for our enemies, when we had a choice to end it with one word.   Amazing grace.

love not nails held Him

I wholeheartedly concur with Carl Boberg,  “And when I think, that God, His Son not sparing; Sent Him to die, I scarce can take it in; That on the Cross, my burden gladly bearing, He bled and died to take away my sin.”

my God how great thou art

That grace that saved me inspires a response.  It calls me to devotion, obedience and action.  If I were to go on about my life like nothing ever happened and change is not vital, I  would need to take another look at whether I had ever truly repented.  At the very “least” (really not so “least” at all), pride would be replaced with humility and gratefulness.  If I continuously and knowingly take advantage of the grace I received as a result of Christ’s suffering and victory over sin, something is very wrong.   In regard to this very subject God uses Paul to say in Romans 6, “By no means!

kneeling at cross

To quote another hymn writer, George Bennard,  “So I’ll cherish the old rugged cross, Till my trophies at last I lay down; I will cling to the old rugged cross, And exchange it some day for a crown.”  Do you cherish the salvation that is offered you because of the cross?  How does it inspire you to respond?

Coffee-for-Your-Heart-150

3 thoughts on “Warm Wednesday Words: Grace Inspires

Leave a Reply

