Warm Wednesday Words: The Three Step Plan

There are moments when I am weary inside and out and loosen my grip on the promises I stand on.  That’s when I use the Three Step Plan – Turn, Believe, Go.  It’s all right inside the hymn, “Turn Your Eyes Upon Jesus”.  It seems to be the same plan in essence that God spoke to His remnant of people through Haggai and other prophets as they worked on the temple when he told them to be strong (turn), get to work(go) and remember His promises (believe).

First I turn my eyes from troubles toward my Savior through one or more avenues such as worship, Bible and devotional readings, or seeking Godly counsel with someone who cares enough to both exhort and encourage and will take the time to give thoughtful and timely counsel.

Second, I believe.  I find what God has said and reposition myself on that truth, or if it’s not clear to me yet, I try to unearth it.  This is usually through my Bible, devotional or journal (which has notes of encouragement, exhortation, scripture promises  sermon notes, a diary and prayer log).  As Oswald Chamber said in the June 5 “My Utmost for His Highest” devotional, “I will remember God’s say-so…like a child ‘bucking himself up’ to reach the standard his father wants.”

41ae885a7b5dc42597c1bff0b781be32

Third, I go.  That means action.  We all have different callings and burdens in various seasons of our life, so action can look entirely different on each of us.  Action can just as rightly be toiling over a prayer list in private or faithfully serving in the family as it can be doing the most visible job in a traditional church service or sacrificing time on a mission trip.  But, acting allows God’s Spirit and light to flow out in ministry, in addition to being an act of obedience to God.

094e796d7fcccdf8eb225715589989cb What a promise we have to know that Jesus life is our light and it can never be extinguished no matter what dark places we go forth with it.   Sometimes it may feel like my light is flickering, but since it’s Christ in me, it burns strong.  What is your strategy for those weary moments?

Holley-Gerth-Button-250x250

 

Leave a Reply

