Warm Wednesday Words: Give Up & Let the Nets Down

In recent years I have increasingly begun to give up.  I can waste alot of time thinking, praying a script out for God or myriads of other ways that “seem right to a man“, but until I sit in a prayer time or engage in a worship time and “give up” some things to God, I may be just spinning my wheels. .  I know I’m not alone in this because Peter (in Luke 5:4-6) also argued with Jesus just a tad when he was caught up in his own efforts and hesitant to believe in the “resting in Jesus” principle.

come unto me“When He had finished speaking, He said to Simon, ‘Put out into deep water and let down your nets for a catch.’  Master,’ Simon replied, ‘we’ve worked hard all night long and caught nothing!  But at Your word, I’ll let down the nets.’  When they did this, they caught a great number of fish, and their nets began to tear.”  Peter claimed they had worked hard all night, but now Jesus only asked him to let the nets down.  Since they hadn’t caught any fish before this, their hard work must’ve been in letting the nets down and pulling them up, moving to different spots, managing the boat, etc.  But at Jesus command, there was no work, just a giving up of the “work” to Jesus.  The nets were immediately heavy with fish.

luke5_nets_1000Though Peter was bone weary and could hardly see the miracle coming, He obeyed His master and reaped a reward.  It was a bit like Christ asking you and me to lay down pride, defenses, guard and worries and trust Him.  It is a giving up of my own way.  Whether in regard to relationships, ministry, missions or wild abandoning trust for some “roller coaster ride” I never envisioned being on, putting my net down for Christ to do the work while I rest in Him is the best way.

trust in GodIn his June 27th devotional, Oswald Chamber said, “Wherever God sends us, He will guard our lives.  Our personal property and possessions are a matter of indifference, we have to sit loosely to all those things; if we do not, there will be panic and heartbreak and distress….Never look for justice in this world, but never cease to give it…Go steadily on with what I have told you to do and I will guard your life.  If you try to guard it yourself, you remove yourself from My deliverance.”

So remind me to give up if you catch me striving.  What do you need to give up to Christ and what nets do you need to let down?

Holley-Gerth-Button-250x250

Leave a Reply

