Warm Wednesday Words: My Weakness/His strength

I get frustrated with my weaknesses.  Weaknesses can be physical, mental, emotional or a combination.  They are a lack that can be frustrating or even frightening in the case of illness, physical suffering, emotional and mental struggles, or a permanent condition.  They can be challenging, frustrating, and life changing.  This world is competitive and leaves any weaknesses in it’s competitive exhaust plume.   That can lead to an overemphasis on weaknesses rather than strengths, in the individual eating the fumes.

Thankfully, God has something different to say about weaknesses, particularly when placed in His hands.  What is viewed as insignificant, foolish, or weak by the world is exactly the raw material God is looking for to display his power.  This is so that if anyone boasts, it may be in the Lord.  (From 1 Cor. 1:26-31)

“Concerning this I pleaded with the Lord three times to take it away from me.  But He said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for power is perfected in weakness.’  Therefore, I will most gladly boast all the more about my weaknesses, insults, catastrophes, persecutions, and in pressures because of Christ.  For when I am weak, then I am strong.”  2 Cor. 12:8-10

His grace is sufficient

After becoming a Christian, my goal has been to reflect Christ as He fills and matures me.  In Him I live and move and have my being.  (from Acts 17:28)  He uses my weaknesses even more than my strengths, so that my dependency is always on Christ.  Lauren Daigle, nailed this in her song “You Say”…’you say I am loved when I can’t feel a thing.  You say I am strong when I think I am weak.  And you say I am held when I am falling short.  And when I don’t belong, oh, you say I am yours.”

finish the race

In the sermon last Sunday at our church, the pastor said three positive things that weakness does.  First, it eliminates pride.  Second, it elevates our position “in Christ” and reminds us that our position is not what we are, but whose we are.  Last, weakness evokes our praise, as we realize Christ’s power resting on us.

As I lean on God to work His power in my weaknesses, I learn to accept myself as I am, but more importantly to look up as God continues to work for His glory.  As Lauren Daigle sums it up in her song, “And I believe, oh, I believe, what you say of me.”  I believe.

Do you believe God can use your weakness?

Leave a comment